Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky (2016)

3.9 Stars25184383.jpg

The main characters are obsessed with a boy band to a sad degree, they camp out at the hotel they are staying at just to get a closer look. They didn’t expect to kidnap one of the members of the band, or as he is perceived “the most useless one” of the lot. They had his cell, his room key, and a whole lot of his secrets.

So, I felt that this book sent me on a number of different kinds of roller coasters. Firstly, I was intrigued by the press I’d read about it, and by the description. As I started reading, I started to have difficulty with the level of obsession, it felt more sad, than funny. Did I really want to read about the mindset of a 15 year old girl who was really sadly obsessed? Was this going to go anywhere better?

Let me just say… it got nuts. Dark nuts. Nuts in ways I didn’t see coming, expected, or sure I understood. Its really not worth me spoiling this, but I can certainly say, the nuts made the book worth reading. It really is just shy of the four star rating for me. I can’t call it one of my top favourites, but it was certainly an entertaining read. The surprises kept coming.

Recommendations: This book is a mockery on all those fan obsessed teenagers who fall madly for the boy band figures. As I mentioned, it got nuts, so you have to enjoy dark humour to get behind this book. Considering the content that I read, and how nuts it got, I’d say its deservedly 13+.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Literature, YA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky (2016)

  1. I’ve been on the fence about this one for a bit. I wasn’t sure if it was just going to be some cheesy romance, however I officially need to pick it up

Leave a Reply

