After You by Jojo Moyes (2015)

Rating: 3.7 Stars25041504.jpg

First of all, if you haven’t read the first book in this series Me Before You, stop reading this review right now, as it will spoil a major point in the story.

This book leaves off about 18 months where the previous book ends. I was a little bit uncertain about what the author would do next, but it is a story in its own right. Louisa is struggling to move forward after losing a loved one. She’s travelled the world, and has had her life turned upside down, but somehow in many ways, she’s exactly where she started at the beginning of book one. A tragic accident sends her to rock bottom, and now recognizes that rebuilding must begin.

I was quite surprised at how much I liked book one, so I was quite keen to read the second to see if the author could shock me again, but I can’t say that she did. I had a bit of difficulty with Louisa, as I’d felt like she’d really grown in the first book, but in the second, she’d regressed significantly enough to nearly turn me off the book. There were just so many times when she self-sabotaged, I could no longer understand her motivations.
The addition of Lily into the story was interesting, but at times weird. I never really understood the relationship between Lily and Louisa, it felt rather schizophrenic. I would have liked a lot more from Sam, as since he was featured in the book’s hook, and since this is labeled a romance novel, I was surprised at how little a role he played.

I’m still impressed with Moyes writing. I find that she’s an incredibly fluid writer and I can easily be absorbed by her work and soar through the pages.

Recommendations: If you’ve read the first one and enjoyed it, or if you’re a fan of Moyes, I’d say have at it. It really is an adult fiction as the subject matter is not of interest to younger readers.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Adult Fiction, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

