Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine (2015)

Rating:3.5 Stars.20643052.jpg

In a world where the “Great Library” is the ruling power, and alchemy runs wild, Jess Brightwell lives amongst the underbelly of the world, fully of black market deals and illegal actions. Jess finds himself sent for training to Alexandria as a spy, but his loyalty is tested as he gets closer to entering the Library’s service, and so does his understanding of the entire realm.

I was quite excited by the subject matter of the book, and so looked forward to reading this piece. I love reading books about books. It took me far too long to get into it. It was not the kind of book I could easily start and stop, as it would take me a while to dive back in again.

I love the value placed on books and libraries, it was an interesting take on the Great Library of Alexandria. It truly was a fascinating concept, but it also felt conceptually busy, like there was too much to explain, and the world building got a little complicated.

I’m not sure if I’ll end up reading the next in the series or not. Its not high on my priority list, but if a copy ended up in my hands, I’d probably give it a go.

Recommendations: If you love books about books, then this might be worth checking, but give yourself real time to dive into it.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Literature, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine (2015)

  1. Nancy says:

    I agree that the world building was too complicated. I tire of almost all Science Fiction/Fantasy novels having to be series, often leading to long winded and confusing plot lines.

Leave a Reply

