The Hypnotists by Gordon Korman (2013)

Rating: 3.617133624.jpg

Jackson Opus learns that his persuasive techniques are a little more than just your average charm. When he is initially accepted into a unique program at the Sentia institute, he puts his hypnotic abilities into practice, where he quickly learns he’s in way over his head.

So this is a book I read because it ended up on our school book club list. The kids picked out this book, and were
adamant about including it. I’ve recently read “unglifted” which, I didn’t love, but this was far more up my alley. The characters were fun, the plot was captivating, and I was pretty engaged in the piece.

The only thing I didn’t really enjoy was the predictability. I felt like I saw where this novel was going right from the beginning, and I wanted to shake the main character just to get him to get to the place I knew he was going to be heading.

Recommendations: Even though it wasn’t one of my favourites, it’s a great middle grade read, but is totally appropriate for all ages.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Literature, YA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

