Suffer Love by Ashley Blake (2016)

Rating: 3.8 Stars.25897851.jpg

Hadley St. Clair is still reeling from the news that her father cheated on her mother with another woman. Family life over the past few months has become increasingly more challenging to cope with, and with the bully at school, things aren’t getting any easier. Sam Bennett is dealing with his family’s very recent divorce and move into a new town. His plans for sticking to the sidelines change when he meets Hadley, but their relationship gets a little complicated quite quickly.

This was one of those books that I didn’t fall in love with, yet I couldn’t put it down until I was done. Something about it pulled me in, and I just relished in that absorption that comes with a book that speaks to you at the right time. It was a very quick read for me. The writing style really captivated me.

Despite my potent attraction to the book, there were some believability issues I had. I found Hadley a little too angry at her entire world, almost to an unnecessary point. Sam was quite charming, but I felt that the resistance he had to telling Hadley about his past a little weak. There were just a few instances where I felt that I could have been further convinced by character’s actions.

Recommendations: I’d probably stick to the 13+ on this one. Its generally innocent, but there’s a lot of reference to sexual content and quite a bit of slut shaming. It’s a nice little love story if you’re in the mood for a bit of feelings.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Literature, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

