The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye (2016)

Rating: 3.3 stars26156203.jpg

Vika is an enchanter who grows up believing she will be the enchanter of Russia, only to learn that Nikolai will be competing for the same position in which only one will survive. The Crown’s game is an magical duel to showcase the deserving party’s magical skill for the position.

I was pretty excited about this book for a few reasons. Firstly, I love a good magic book. Secondly, it covers an interesting aspect of history. Finally, I’d read a bit of hype about it. My excitement fell a little flat. Although there were beautiful descriptions created about the magic and world building, there were times when this story dragged and it was a challenge to continue.

I did really enjoy Vika’s character. I found that she was the most charming and believable of the book. Some of the other characters just seemed inconsistent. I really didn’t care for Pasha and Nikolai and considering they were the main love interests, it made it difficult to cling to the book.

The ending was not impressive. It really left me wanting, and not in a “I’m excited for a sequel” kind of way. It was somewhat expected, but I really wasn’t sure which direction the author would really take it.

Recommendations: If you’re interested in Russian History, this is a pretty neat take on it, but the book isn’t overwhelming.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Historical Fiction, Literature, YA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

