Run by Kody Keplinger (2016)

Rating: 3.5 stars.23613983.jpg

In a small town, big reputations matter, and Bo Dickson has a wild one. Her father has taken off, and her mother is rarely sober. Her whole family is seen as a poison to the community. Agnes’ world is very different. Growing up legally blind, her parents are violently overprotective, and thus leaves Agnes without much in the way of worldly experience. The two connect while in school and become inseparable best friends. So much so, that when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, looking for escape
, Agnes is only too willing to come with her.

This is a powerful novel about friendship. Two girls who just seem to understand each other on a level beyond the comprehension of others. It is very common to read a book about a pair of best friends who have known each other their whole lives. It was really nice to see this friendship develop the way that it did. I really enjoyed seeing the
two connect on such a strong level. This really sold the book for me.

On the other hand, I felt like I’ve read something like this before and it was a little predictable. I kept waiting for something to happen that would make it different than other “road trip” novels that I’ve read, but there wasn’t. But the book was a fly through. I read it in about a day or two. SO if you’re looking for a quick read, its nice.

Recommendation: I would say that this is 12+. There are some references to drugs, alcohol, sex, but all vague. If you’re looking for a story on friendship, it’s a nice choice, it was just a little too formulaic for my liking.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Literature, realistic fiction, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment