The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi (2016)

Rating: 4.2 stars25203675.jpg

Maya is born a princess with a cursed horoscope, where this matters considerably to her kingdom and family. In the haste to marry her off for political convenience, Maya finds herself tied to a man named Amar. She is swept up in the whirlwind of his courtship, but realizes that there are secrets that he hides, and voices that taunt her through the walls telling her not to trust him.

I’m really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. The first thing that really pulled me in was the writing. The descriptions, the creativity behind the imagined world is stellar. I felt transported to a world unlike my own, and the beauty of the language radiated throughout the book. Highly impressive. The author really painted beautiful settings, rich with detail.

I was also a fan of Maya’s character. I liked that the story was based around her growing strength, her growing into becoming a queen of this new world she knows so little about.

There were a few areas that I had difficulty with believability, but nothing that distracted me from being impressed overall with this book. Some of the sections were a bit jarring, like the jumps between ideas went too quickly and I had to go back to reread and clarify.

Recommendation: The style of writing lends itself better to an older audience. I would say 13+ for that reason alone. It’s completely safe, just a little dark in some places.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

