Pax by Sara Pennypacker (2016)

Rating: 4 stars.22098550.jpg

The story centres around Peter (a young boy) and Pax (a fox raised by Peter as a pet). After a difficult separation, Peter works to try and get Pax back.

This was an adorable tale and I raced right through it (couldn’t stop). I really enjoyed the perspective that the author created from Pax. I found it very much like I’d imagine how the fox would see the world, entering it without a lot of understanding. The descriptions were beautifully simplistic and whimsical.

Peter’s hardships were quite the challenge to overcome, but his new friend made for an interesting companion character. I loved the illustrations. They were a great accompaniment to the book, and the cover totally sucked me into the tale from the beginning.

I’m not overly impressed with the ending, and I find it difficult to criticize without giving anything  away. Regardless, it left me unsatisfied.

Recommendation: Junior Readers. It was sweet, some darker stuff in here with respect to the animal hunting, so if that makes you queasy, skip those sections.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, Literature, realistic fiction, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

