Front Lines by Michael Grant (2016)

Rating: 4.2 Stars.18743370.jpg

An alternative history series that depicts what might have happened if women were permitted on the front lines. The tale is told from several female perspectives. Rainy, an intelligence officer, Frangie, a black medic in training, and Rio an army recruit. The narrative follows them through their training and into the European theatre.

I was very impressed by this book. I’ve had several of my students read it, and come back with rave reviews, so it made it nearer to the top of my never ending summer reads list.

Grant on the whole, did an excellent job of world building. Attitudes of the characters we meet really show the wide variety of perspectives, giving not only a brilliant action story, but great underlying themes of social justice, in particular, racism and sexism. I can’t stop cringing at what Frangie has to deal with. At the same time, the very real desires for the women to have it ‘all over with’, and the lighter emotional side we see in Rio in particular with her romantic interests. I’m looking forward to seeing this develop, and how her views change over time.

Two things I’d liked to have seen more of: firstly, I loved the idea, behind this, but I’d love to see more how this history had changed. I wanted to know how this legislation to allow women to fight, came through. It was something I had difficulty just ‘accepting’ without a little more background. Second thing: Rainy. I loved this character and I felt like I never got enough of her. I’m looking forward to reading more from her perspective in the next in the series.

Recommendation: If you like Wartime historical fiction, it’s well worth your time. Little bit of violence makes it better for older readers. 12+.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, Historical Fiction, Literature, realistic fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

