Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (2016)

Rating: 4 stars.23299512.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve read a good dark urban fantasy, and this one definitely wet my appetite for more. In a world where monsters rule the night,

Kate was brilliant character. A bit broken, strong, damaged, but you didn’t mess with her, and I loved that. She was terrifying and never played the victim card.  August, like Kate is trying to make a name for himself, trying to show that he isn’t too young, but that he is capable of more.

I kept waiting for the romance to come, wondering how it would take shape, as it usually does when your two characters are of opposite gender. However, it was pretty non-existent here, and I’m quite pleased with it. The focus was entirely on the conflict and the development of the characters themselves.

I would have enjoyed more world building. We get snippets of it and how it relates to Kate and August, but I find myself very curious to understand the world a little better, to know a little more about it.

Recommendations: This is a dark book, gritty, with a bit of gore. I’d keep it out of a middle school library, but it’s a great YA read.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in dystopia, Four Star+ Books, Horror, Literature, mystery, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

