As I Descended by Robin Talley (2016)

Rating: 3.7 Stars28218948.jpg
A modern day retelling of Macbeth with a setting at a private boarding school where students are competing for the Kingsley prize – a prestigious honour and virtual free ride to college. When Maria gets it into her head to dethrone Delilah, things fall apart rapidly.

I’d been waiting for this book for some time. I fell hard in love with “Lies We Tell Ourselves” and I couldn’t wait to read Talley’s next book. When I he
ard that this was going to be a Macbeth retell with LGBT themes and with more ghosts I was certainly intrigued.

The crossover was an interesting portrayal. There was enough creativity and uniqueness to the story that kept it new, but enough tie ins to the original work that any Macbeth fan could see and understand.

I did enjoy some of the character development. Delilah made an excellent character at the beginning of the piece ripe with conflict. Lily was phenomenally written and really was quite the highlight for me. Maria and Brandon felt a little flat at times and I found myself noticeably less interested in their storylines.

My only challenge with the book is that around the 2/3-3/4 mark it began to get a little slow and it became harder for me to finish. The pace quickened in the last 50 pages bringing an appropriate conclusion to the piece.

Recommendations: If you’re a Macbeth fan, it’s certainly an interesting take on the story, but if that’s not your cup of tea, this may not be the book for you. However, if you like a good ghost story, it’s different and worth checking out. Definitely for older readers.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Horror, Literature, mystery, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

