Kids of Appetite by David Arnold (2016)

Rating: 5 stars22466429.jpg

Vic’s father died two years ago, and in the midst of a breakdown, Vic runs away with his father’s urn and joins up with a band of misfits. He finds himself enamoured with Madeline (Mad), and receiving the help from Baz (a Congolese refugee) to fulfill some unfinished business We read his story through the lens of a police interview for the murder of Mad’s uncle.

I don’t remember the last time I threw down my full 5 stars, but this, earns it. After how much I loved Arnold’s first book Mosquitoland, I’ve long awaited his next and I was not disappointed.

I love the way he writes. I love the way that he finds “isms” creates them within the story and makes them so authentic you want to make them part of your vernacular. They pop up every now and again and brilliantly timed, you can’t help but smile. “I am a super racehorse.”

I love his flawed creative characters. He manages to create real and true voices from characters you root for, you feel for and want to read more from. I fell in love with each and every one of the Kids of Appetite and all of their iconic quirks and behaviours.

I loved the peppering in of beautiful philosophical ideas, simplistic, yet all encompassing and believable from the source.

It’s a murder mystery, an adventure, a refugee story, and a coming of age novel all in one.

“Our past tenses last way longer than our present ones.”

If you’re a fan of Mosquitoland, do not hesitate to get your hands on this. The characters are a little dark, a little damaged, but beautiful all the same.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, humour, Literature, mystery, realistic fiction, romance, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

