The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (2016)

Rating: 5 Stars.28763485.jpg

It is rare, but every now and again, you find a book that floors you, leaves you weeping and with a heavy book hangover that no book will compare to for a very long time. This was one of those books for me.

Natasha is a level-headed highly logical and intelligent girl. She meets Daniel, a poetic dreamer tied to living up to his Korean parents’ expectations. They meet on the day that Natasha and her family are due to be deported back to Jamaica and she searches for any means possible to keep her family and her future in the United States. Daniel is on his way to a college interview that could change the track of his life forever and open it up to opportunity. Their adventures in New York City and adventures in getting to know each other is a roller coaster ride of emotions.

Although I enjoyed Everything, Everything, and was quite excited to read this, it surpassed all of my expectations.

I fell in love with Daniel, I fell in love with Natasha and I fell in love with so many beautiful lines this story held within it. This book had all the feels:

“I wonder if she realizes how passionate she is about not being passionate.”

“We’re kindling amid lightning strikes, a lit match and dry wood, fire danger signs and a forest waiting to be burned.”

“I didn’t know you this morning, and now I don’t remember not knowing you.”

“There’s a Japanese phrase that I like: koi no yokan. It doesn’t mean love at first sight. It’s closer to love at second sight. It’s the feeling when you meet someone that you’re going to fall in love with them. Maybe you don’t love them right away, but it’s inevitable that you will.”

There are just so many beautifully written lines within this book, I can’t get enough of it. It’s the kind of book that I want to tag with post-it notes and look at later to remind me of those beautiful book feelings.

I love the musings of the narrator that we read from time to time, giving the reader a wider perspective on the world of Natasha and Daniel. It makes you feel more intimate with the book, more integrated.

Recommendation: I wholeheartedly recommend this book. It is full of feelings and beautiful writing. I hesitate to write any more as I don’t want to spoil anything else about what makes this book truly beautiful.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, humour, Literature, realistic fiction, romance, YA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (2016)

  1. Is the Sun is Also a Star a sequel to Everything Everything? Overall, I think it’s getting even better reviews than Yoon’s first book!

Leave a Reply

