You in Five Acts by Una La Marche (2016)

Rating: 4 Stars.28588461.jpg

Having read Una La Marche before (and loving Like No Other), and other such specialized art school stories, this book was pretty much what I had expected it to be.

I did enjoy the alternate perspectives on the semester. They were well positioned and they brought out a beautiful emotional resonance. Joy was by far my favourite character. I’ve read books about prima ballerina’s before, but I adored the perspective that her African American heritage brought. The budding romance with Diego certainly stole my heart. Liv was an interesting contrast, but I wish I could have seen more of her “outside” behaviour. The other characters could have provided a little more clarity on how Liv was acting.

The only character I didn’t like was Ethan.  I found him to be a bit lack luster. I suppose he’s written that way on purpose, I just wish there was more to him I would have liked as I did the other characters.

Recommendation: This is a very character driven book with an art-school like focus. If you’re into such stories like “Fame”, this could be for you.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, Literature, realistic fiction, romance, Uncategorized, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

