Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded by Hannah Hart (2016)

Rating: 4 Stars.28217831.jpg

Years ago, I found Hannah Hart as she was just beginning her youtube career on My Drunk Kitchen. The first episode I ever watched was her freshly launched Hallowe’en Candy episode where she proceeded to rate various Halloween candies from her candy bowl. She sold me on her humour and brilliantly punny nature. I was hooked from the beginning.

After having read her cookbook, I was expecting much the same light hearted nature, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that her story is far more thought provoking and real. She sheds light on aspects of her life I did not know about – her mother’s mental illness, her own emancipation, her sexuality, her battle with religion and her father’s lack of understanding of her own sexuality. Its real, its emotional and authentic. She releases her heart into the world and I love her all the more for it.

Her voice comes through shiny and clear in her anecdotes, hilarious descriptions, and explanations behind the background of the face we see on youtube.

It’s hard to transition out of this “internet drunk icon”, but she’s done it brilliantly over the years and I look forward to her continuing her work and staying tuned.

Recommendation: The book itself is a very quick read, and I’d certainly suggest high school age and up.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in humour, Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

