Honestly Ben by Bill Konigsberg (2017)

Rating: 4 stars27230789.jpg

The story takes off AFTER Openly Straight, so if you’ve not yet picked that book up, you should before starting this one, and in fact, if you plan on reading it at all, quit reading this blog entry right now and pick up Openly Straight if you’re keen on getting your hands on a cute LGBT fiction.

Short Summary: It continues the story of Openly Straight from Ben’s perspective, lending some insight on the internal struggles we see in such a quiet and reserved character. I’m nervous about these kinds of books only because I found Another Day to be such a disappointment after the utterly brilliant Everyday by David Levithan.

The Porcupine of Truth is probably one of my top 10 books from 2015. I loved the humour, the characters, and it just felt like a different kind of story, despite the similarities to so many books I’ve read. Needless to say, I’ve been excited about checking out Honestly Ben for a while.

What I liked: I loved the highlighting of the concept that labels are not necessary. It’s too often that we see labels as required entities and it was really nice to see Ben really stick to his desire for a lack of label. Labels give some of us comfort, while others it provides a box we’re supposed to fit in that doesn’t feel quite right. This book nailed that feeling and I’m so happy to see more of this in literature.

The book is a breezy read that you’ll be amazed at how quickly you finish it. A great dismissal from reality for a little while.

What I didn’t: The ending was a little too abrupt for me. It seemed as though this could have gone in a multitude of different ways, but I wanted a little more closure as it finished.

Recommendation: If you enjoyed Openly Straight, I highly recommend continuing on with this book as it really does provide more depth to the original tale.

About K2Harvey

Reading, and writing about it.
This entry was posted in Four Star+ Books, humour, Literature, realistic fiction, romance, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

